Major McCargo ’14 (center L) and Kelsey Baldwin ’14 (center R) of Cornell Law School

On April 3 and 4, 2014, fourteen teams competed in the National Rounds of the 5th Annual Transactional LawMeet, an event hosted by Sullivan & Cromwell LLP’s New York office and sponsored by Bloomberg Law and Practical Law. Kelsey Baldwin ’14 and Major McCargo ’14 of the Cornell Law School team were named National Finalists of the competition.

John Delva, William Myer, and Christopher Stanko from University of Colorado Law School and Bradley Cook and Drew Taggart from University of Mississippi School of Law were named the National Champions of the competition. The other National Finalists were Jay Berryman and Kevin Wempe from University of Kansas School of Law.

The competition asked teams of law students to represent one of two sides in drafting and negotiating an acquisition of a biotechnology company. Over the past several months, the students drafted agreements, held interviews with their clients, and marked up opposing teams’ drafts. The National Rounds culminated with face-to-face negotiations.

In addition, Trevor Anderson, Gillian Bialer, Pengyu Chen, and Matthew Pi from Emory University School of Law and Brooke Baird, Elizabeth Clippard, and Michael Crum from University of Tennessee College of Law were awarded the “Best Draft” award to recognize their achievement in drafting the proposed agreements and marking up opposing teams’ drafts.

Stephen Kotran, a partner at Sullivan & Cromwell who served as a judge at both the regional and national rounds, noted: “The LawMeet is a spectacular learning experience that addresses a deep need in legal education and the profession. The participants, even if they did not come away with a trophy, are way ahead of the curve as future transactional lawyers.”  

Fourteen senior practitioners served as judges at the National Rounds. They were: Tim Fanning (Practical Law); Ellen Grady (Safeguard Scientifics); Elizabeth Goldman (Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law at Yeshiva University); Jessica Hoffman (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP); Aaron Holmes (Accenture); Tasha Hutchins (Practical Law); Andrew Kaufman (Kirkland & Ellis LLP); Karl Kilb (Bloomberg Law); Stephen Kotran (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP); Frank London (Rothschild, Inc.); Charles Middleton (Oxbow Corporation); Andrew Muratore (Pfizer, Inc.); Charles Nathan (RLM Finsbury); and Krishna Veeraraghavan (Sullivan & Cromwell LLP).  

Karl Kilb, a senior executive at Bloomberg LP who served as Bloomberg’s general counsel for 15 years, stated: “Transactional tools such as those on Bloomberg Law and simulated negotiations are the best way to train the next generation. LawMeets offers the kind of learning we believe in and are thrilled to support.”

The fourteen teams that competed April 3–4 had advanced to the National Rounds of the competition after being named finalists of seven Regional LawMeets, which took place in February and featured 84 teams from 65 law schools.

The fourteen teams that competed were from the following law schools:

• Boston College Law School

• Cornell Law School

• Emory University School of Law

• Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law

• Marshall-Wythe School of Law at the College of William & Mary

• Salmon P. Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University

• South Texas College of Law

• University of Colorado Law School

• University of Kansas School of Law

• University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law

• University of Mississippi School of Law

• USC Gould School of Law

• University of Tennessee College of Law

• Wayne State University Law School